Friday, July 28, 2006

Voting Rights Schmoting Rights

The following 33 U.S. Representatives voted against renewing the Voting Rights Act, which is surprising because I always thought voting rights were the backbone of a democracy, silly me. To begin with it's a joke that this law hasn't been made permanent, but I'd really just settle for enforcement. Shockingly, after doing some research I noticed the following 33 "nayers" are all Republican. Must be a coincidence. Here they are America:

Alabama: Rep. Jo Bonner (R-1), Rep. Terry Everett (R-2).
Rep. Trent Franks (R-2), Rep. John Shadegg (R-3).
California: Rep. John Campbell (R-48), Rep. John Doolittle (R-4), Rep. Wally Herger (R-2), Rep. Gary Miller (R-42), Rep. Dana Rohrabacher (R-46), Rep. Ed Royce (R-40).
Rep. Joel Hefley (R-5), Rep. Thomas Tancredo (R-6).
Georgia (a whopping 6 out of 13 Georgia representatives): Rep. Nathan Deal (R-10), Rep. Phil Gingrey (R-11), Rep. John Linder (R-7), Rep. Charles Norwood (R-9), Rep. Tom Price (R-6), Rep. Lynn Westmoreland (R-8)
(This video of Lynn with Stephen Colbert is genius. Get to know this guy, he's probably our next president)
Indiana: Rep. Dan Burton (R-5).
Rep. Steve King (R-5).
Louisiana: Rep. Richard Baker (R-6)

Rep. Roscoe Bartlett (R-6).

(He's my personal favorite. First off, his name is Roscoe. If there was ever a name that embodies inept hillbillies, Roscoe would be a first ballot hall of famer. Former profession? Scientist. I'd be willing to bet he’s not a Darwinian.)
New Jersey: Rep. Scott Garrett (R-5).
North Carolina:
Rep. Virginia Foxx (R-5), Rep. Patrick McHenry (R-10)

South Carolina:
Rep. J. Gresham Barrett (R-3)
Tennessee: Rep. John Duncan, Jr. (R-2).
Texas: Rep. Joe Barton (R-6), Rep. Mike Conaway (R-11), Rep. Jeb Hensarling (R-5), Rep. Sam Johnson (R-3), Rep. Ron Paul (R-14), Rep. William Thornberry (R-13).

There you have it folks, your 2006 conservative base!


Post a Comment

<< Home